Park Commission

Clubview-Park-Coming-Soon-SignQuality living, one park at a time.

Core Values
Maintain, preserve, and protect Ypsilanti Township parks and amenities.
Value partnering with the community to support and sustain Ypsilanti Township parks.
Promote nature, recreation and health.

The Ypsilanti Township Park Commission is to represent residents in all matters pertaining to Township parks. It is the responsibility of Park Commissioners to listen to the concerns, opinions and ideas of its residents and present these to the entire Park Commission for discussion and decision-making purposes. The Commissioners have a responsibility to respond to the residents by sharing the information and decisions made by the body.

The Park Commission is involved in development of policy pertaining to parks, while the staff of the Township has the responsibility to administer the policies. The Commissioners have input in determining priorities for capital outlay related to parks. These priority decisions are made based on the Township's Parks and Recreation Five-Year Master Plan, which the Park Commission helps establish.

Michigan statutes dictate the responsibilities of Park Commissions. Within this framework, the Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees for their consideration. You may communicate with any individual Park Commissioner either through direct contact or written message. Written messages may be placed in the Park Commission mailbox at the Civic Center.

Meeting Schedule
In 2024, the Park Commission will meet on the 1st Monday of each month except for January, July, and September, the 2nd Monday. 

Meeting 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Tilden R. Stumbo Civic Center Board Room (unless otherwise indicated).

Monday, January 8, 2024
Monday, February 5, 2024
Monday, March 4, 2024
Monday, April 1, 2024
Monday, May 6, 2024
Monday, June 3, 2024
Monday, July 1, 2024
Monday, August 5, 2024
Monday, September 9, 2024 (Labor Day observed September 2nd)
Monday, October 7, 2024
Monday, November 4, 2024
Monday, December 2, 2024

Park Commission Members
Tajalli Hodge, Chair
David Streeter, Vice Chair
Jeff Neel, Secretary
Brad Hine, Treasurer
Edward Burnett, Commissioner
Darrell Kirby, Commissioner
Star Smith, Commissioner